Featured Fellow: Sammy Shrestha, Alameda County Superior Court

Sammy Shrestha, 2023-2024 Judicial Fellow, Alameda County Superior Court

Hello! My name is Sammy Shrestha (they/them), and I am placed at the Superior Court of California, Alameda County. As an Oakland native, the opportunity to serve my community this year has been very exciting. I recently graduated from Pomona College with majors in American Studies and Politics, and in my free time, I enjoy singing, dancing, playing soccer, and reading fantasy novels.

Working in court administration, specifically with the Executive Office of Projects and Programs, has taught me so much about what accessibility can look like in our criminal justice system. While I have performed a wide range of administrative tasks throughout the year, one personal project has stood out. Inspired by several LGBTQ+ judges and a gender non-conforming attorney, I wanted to explore how our Court can be more welcoming of trans and gender non-conforming people, and I have received nothing but support in this endeavor. In addition to updating the Court’s dress code and pronoun policies, I am working with staff in HR to develop a sensitivity and bias training on this topic for court staff. Hopefully, these efforts ensure that the Court is as accessible as possible to all people.

I am grateful for this experience, and I know it will prepare me well for whatever comes next. Law school, perhaps?

Leave a comment